Canada Puts Stricter Rules on Foreign Nationals Transiting Through Canada to Alaska

Posted: Aug 17, 2020


Source: Indigenous Services Canada

The following is an excerpt from Indigenous Services Canada's BC Update, dated August 14, 2020. Download the entire BC Region Update here.

Stricter rules and additional entry conditions are being imposed on travellers transiting through Canada to Alaska for a non-discretionary purpose. These measures are put in place to further reduce the risk of introduction of COVID-19 cases and to minimize the amount of time that in-transit travellers are in Canada. In-transit foreign nationals:

  • must enter Canada at one of the five identified CBSA ports of entry (POE)
  1. Abbotsford-Huntingdon (British Columbia)
  2. Coutts (Alberta)
  3. Kingsgate (British Columbia)
  4. North Portal (Saskatchewan)
  5. Osoyoos (British Columbia)
  • will be allowed a reasonable period of stay to carry out the transit
  • will be limited to travel within Canada using the most direct route from the POE to the intended POE of exit, while avoiding all national parks, leisure sites and tourism activities
  • will be required, before entering the U.S., to report to the nearest CBSA POE to confirm their exit from Canada

In-transit travellers will be issued a vehicle “hang tag” to be attached to their rear view mirror for the duration of their trip to or from Alaska to support compliance while they are in Canada. The front of the tag will make it clear that the travellers are transiting and include the date they must depart Canada. The back of the tag will remind travellers to comply with all conditions imposed upon entry and the Quarantine and Emergencies Acts and a list of public health and safety measures to follow.